The 21st International Symposium on Spin Physics Oct 20-24, 2014, Peking University, Beijing, China First Circular

The 21st International Symposium on Spin Physics (Spin2014) will be held on the campus of Peking University, Beijing, China, during October 20-24, 2014. The International Spin Physics Symposium series combined together the High Energy Spin Symposia and the Nuclear Polarization Conferences since 2000. The most recent symposia took place in Charlottesville, Virginia, USA (2008), Forschungszentrum Juelich, Germany (2010), and JINR, Dubna, Russia (2012). Spin 2014 is co-chaired by Bo-Qiang Ma (PKU) and Haiyan Gao (Duke).

Symposium Topics and Program

The scientific program of this symposium will include topics related to spin phenomena in particle and nuclear physics as well as those in related fields. The symposium topics cover accelerator, storage and polarimetry of polarized beams; applications of spin physics (medical imaging, quantum information and computing, spin in condensed matter physics, etc.); fundamental symmetries and physics beyond the standard model; future facilities and experiments; nucleon structure; polarized ion and lepton sources and targets; spin physics in nuclear reactions and nuclei; spin physics with photon, lepton and hadron beams; spin structure of hadrons. The symposium format consists of talks in plenary and parallel sessions, a poster session, and a public lecture.

Symposium Registration Fee

The registration fee is of \$300 USD for participants (\$150 USD for students) and \$200 USD for accompanying persons paid in cash. The fee will cover reception, banquet, social activities, coffee breaks and lunches. The accompanying persons will be free of the registration fee if they do not take part in the above activities.

Hotels

Participants will be accommodated in the Guest Hotel of Peking University or nearby Hotels. The price will be of about 60-150 USD per day for a standard double room. The fee is paid in cash or by credit card upon reception at the hotel. Detailed information about visa, travel, and hotels will be available on the conference website in the near future.

International Spin Physics Committee:

R. Milner – MIT (Chair) E. Steffens - Erlangen (Past-Chair)

M. Anselmino – Torino E. Aschenauer – BNL

A. Belov – INR Moscow
P. Lenisa – Ferrara
B.-Q. Ma – Peking
N. Makins – Illinois
A. Martin – Trieste
A. Milstein – Novosibirsk
R. Prepost – Wisconsin
T. Roser – BNL

N. Saito – KEK
H. Stroeher – Juelich
F. Bradamante* – Trieste
D.G. Crabb* – Virginia
G. Fidecaro* – CERN
A.D. Krisch* – Michigan
C.Y. Prescott* – SLAC
W.T.H. van Oers* – Manitoba

H. Sakai – Tokyo
O. Teryaev – Dubna
E.D. Courant*– BNL
A.V. Efremov* – JINR
W. Haeberli* – Wisconsin
A. Masaike* – Kyoto
V. Soergel* – Heidelberg

_ Manitoha

(* honorary member)

Local Organizing Committees

Xiangsong Chen (Huazhong Univ. of Scie. and Tech.)

Haiyan Gao (Duke Univ., Co Chair)

Bitao Hu (Lanzhou Univ.)

Xiaomei Li (China Inst. of Atomic Energy)

Zuo-tang Liang (Shandong Univ.)

Chuan Liu (Peking Univ.)

Haijing Lv (Huangshan Univ.)

Bo-Qiang Ma (Peking Univ., Co-Chair)

Jianping Ma (Inst. of Theo. Phys., CAS)

Yajun Mao (Peking Univ.)

Bowen Xiao (Central China Normal Univ.)

Zhigang Xiao (Tsinghua Univ.)

QinghuaXu (Shandong Univ.)

Wenbiao Yan (Univ. of Scie. and Tech. of China)

Qiang Zhao (Inst. of High Energy Physics, CAS)

Shi-Lin Zhu (Peking Univ.)

Bingsong Zou (Inst. of Theo., Phy., CAS)

Chao-Hsi Chang* (Inst. of Theo. Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), Beijing)

Kuang-Ta Chao* (Peking Univ., Beijing)

Haiyang Cheng* (Academia Sinica, Taipei)

Hideto En'yo* (RIKEN, Wako)

Hanxin He* (China Inst. of Atomic Energy, Beijing)

Tao Huang* (Inst. of High Energy Physics, CAS, Beijing)

Xiangdong Ji* (UMD/SJTU, College Park/Shanghai)

Anthony W. Thomas* (Univ. of Adelaide, Adelaide)

Fan Wang* (Nanjing Univ., Nanjing)

Zhengguo Zhao* (University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei)

(* Advisors to LOC)

Symposium Sponsors:

School of Physics, Peking University, State Key Laboratory of Nuclear Physics and Technology, Peking University, Center for High Energy Physics, Peking University,

Duke University, Brookhaven National Laboratory*, Central China Normal University, European Physics Journal A, Jefferson Lab, Huangshan University, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Institute of High-Energy Physics, Lanzhou University, Shandong University, Tsinghua University, University of Science and Technology of China, National Natural Science Foundation of China

(* to be confirmed)

Parallel Program and Conveners:

Topics	Conveners:
Spin structure of hadrons	Chuan Liu, Vincenzo Barone, Feng Yuan, Akio Ogawa
(joints)	
Spin Structure of Nucleon	Rene Fatemi, Jian-Ping Chen, Marco Stratmann
(longitudinal)	
Spin Structure of Nucleon	Alexei Prokudin, Zuo-tang Liang, Andrea Bressan
(transverse)	
Nucleon Structure (form	Nicole D'Hose, John Arrington, Dieter Mueller, Barbara
factors, GPDs)	Pasquini
Spin in Hadronic Reactions	Seonho Choi, Frank Rathmann
Spin Physics with Photons	Michael Ostrick, Reinhard Beck, Mohammad Ahmed
and Leptons	
Spin Physics in Nuclear	Arnoldas Deltuva, Evgeny Epelbaum, Kimiko Sekiguchi,
Reactions and Nuclei	Zhigang Xiao
Fundamental Symmetries	Krishna Kumar, Jens Erler, Yuri Obukhov
and Physics Beyond the	
Standard Model	
Accelerator, Storage and	Alexander Chao, Mei Bai, Andreas Lehrach
Polarimetry of Polarized	
Beams	
Polarized Ion and Lepton	Matt Poelker, Don Crabb
Sources and Targets	
Future Facilities and	Rolf Ent, Jianwei Qiu, Zhengguo Zhao, Alexander Nagaystev
Experiments	
Applications of Spin	Gordon Cates (Medical), Warren Warren (Medical), Guilu
Physics	Long and Xincheng Xie (Quantum Info), Xi Chen and Ruirui
	Du (CMP)

Symposium Contact: Bo-Qiang Ma, Professor of Physics, School of Physics, Peking University, Beijing 100871, China, Email: spin2014@pku.edu.cn http://www.phy.pku.edu.cn/spin2014/