



First Circular

Initial Stages 2019

June 24-28, 2019 • Columbia University, New York, NY

Initial Stages 2019 (IS2019), the 5th International Conference on the Initial Stages in High-Energy Nuclear Collisions, will take place at Columbia University from June 24-28, 2019.

The scientific program will be devoted to new developments in nuclear physics, with an emphasis on the latest data from the following event topics:

- The partonic structure of protons and nuclei, including spin, momentum and spatial aspects
- · Physics at low-x, using both weak coupling and strong coupling approaches
- The physics of the initial stages in hadronic and nuclear collisions, including the approach
 (or not) to hydrodynamic and local thermal equilibrium, the role of strong initial magnetic fields,
 and transport properties (viscosity and vorticity)
- Experimental data from colliders and fixed target hadron and deep-inelastic scattering experiments
- Prospects for future facilities (Electron-Ion Collider, LHeC, FCC)

Talks will be arranged in both plenary and parallel sessions.

Local organizing committee

Stefan Bathe, Baruch
Helen Caines, Yale
Brian Cole, Columbia
Adrian Dumitru, Baruch
Jiangyong Jia, Stony Brook/BNL
Tom Hemmick, Stony Brook
David Morrison, BNL
Jaki Noronha-Hoestler, Rutgers
Lijuan Ruan, BNL
Sevil Salur, Rutgers
Bjoern Schenke, BNL
Peter Steinberg, BNL, co-chair
Derek Teaney, Stony Brook
Thomas Ullrich, BNL
Raju Venugopalan, BNL, co-chair

International advisory committee

Christine Aidala, University of Michigan Amanda Cooper-Sarkar, Oxford Abhay Deshpande, Stony Brook Olga Evdokimov, UIC Wojtek Florkowski, IFJ PAN, Krakow Renee Fatemi, University of Kentucky Kenji Fukushima, University of Tokyo Frederique Grassi, University of Sao Paolo Sangyong Jeon, McGill University Tuomas Lappi, University of Jyväskylä Wei Li, Rice University Silvia Masciocchi, GSI Guilherme Milhano, CERN/LIP Berndt Mueller, BNL Jamie Nagle, University of Colorado, Boulder

Mateusz Ploszkon, LBNL
Jianwei Qiu, Jefferson Lab
Carlos Salgado, Santiago de Compostela
Anne Sickles, UIUC
Huichao Song, Peking University
Anna Stasto, Penn State University
Mike Strickland, Kent State University
Marta Verweij, Vanderbilt Univeristy
Urs Wiedemann, CERN
Feng Yuan, LBNL